My Secret Space of Green

Dark it is, with the smell of dirt and dried leaves.

I can feel my heart racing beneath my ribs.

Someone beyond the veil of greenery is counting down from ten.

For a moment I’m paralyzed with the thought of capture.

Will they find me? I  know they will!

But I don’t want to be it! Have they stopped counting? Yes!

Quick stop breathing, they’ll hear you here.

My rump rests fitfully on a smooth rock, a centipede crawls by.

There’s whispering in the grass out side,

I realize I have to pee.

One thought on “My Secret Space of Green

Leave a Reply

