The Black Cat Blue Sea Award

Special thanks to Invisible No More for nominating The Ink Owl for this blogging award! The Black Cat Blue Sea Award exists to expose those bloggers who are less known in the blogging-verse, as well as to highlight a blogger’s passion and reasons to write. It’s a way to show gratitude for another’s efforts. I think it’s brilliant!

Rules

  • anybody nominated can nominate up to eight other bloggers
  • the nominee answers three questions posed by the nominator
  • the questions you ask while nominating can be any three questions

Invisible-No-More’s questions for me:

  • Where do you look for inspirations for your blog posts?

Currently I am running a full month’s worth of poems about my childhood on the Ink Owl. I was taking care of my parent’s garden while they were away on vacation and inspiration struck as I was surrounded by my childhood home and grounds. I also believe that the world around me is intrinsically link to my writing. Not a day goes by when I am out and about doing something or seeing anything that a thought hits me and I have to write it down. To take it a step further I find so much inspiration in nature. Being immersed in living, growing things is, for lack of a better word, a “Cradle of Life” for my writing.

  • How has your blog changed / evolved over time? Was the change in line with your expectations?

When I began this blog, I pictured it as a platform to feature a few specific stories. I had in mind a kind of episodic storytelling blog that would maintain the same story indefinitely. (Kind of like that blog that started “The Martian.” Little did I know that The Ink Owl would become a place for me to strike out into the unknown; to flex my proverbial muscles and try writing in a hundred different ways. Now this blog features original poetry, personal memories, murder mysteries, horror stories, and so much more. In so many ways this blog has exceeded any of my expectations.

  • What would you like to be doing in the future? Are you still blogging?

Well, I’m studying to become a secondary science educator. I would love to be in a teacher’s role of interacting with young, impressionable minds. The idea that I could enhance their understanding of our world from within a classroom is incredible. I would also like to be writing and publishing stories at the same time. There is so much raw energy and inspiration that comes from being within a school, one cannot help but put pen to paper. Even within my own educational experience I found myself constantly writing down notes and characters for a hundred different stories within the margins of my notebooks.

My Nominations:

Jade M.Wong

Earth to Ash

Kindra M. Austin

Fearful, Fitful, Phantasmal

My Questions for them:

  • What are your goals for writing? Where do you want it to go?
  • While working on a writing project how do you keep yourself on track or task?
  • Do you use music to help you write? If yes what kind? If not what do you use to help you write?

I completely understand if you don’t have the time to participate in this award, but know that I nominated you because you are exceptional writers, and deserve to be awarded for your work.

-M.E. InkOwl

 

 

8 thoughts on “The Black Cat Blue Sea Award

  1. Congratulations once again and this is one I’ve not seen before! Also a timely reminder I must do the ones you nominated me for a while back. Really must catch up there. Great answers too!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Aww thank you so much for the nomination! This is an award I’ve never heard of and I’m flattered to display it on my blog. I’ll get to working on the acceptance post ^_^

    I love that you found inspiration while tending to your parents’ garden. Inspiration really does strike anywhere and everywhere! I also wish you good luck in becoming an educator! That’s a very worthwhile pursuit 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

