Guest Submission: Blood and Ice

 

The blood oozed from the wound on Nathaniel’s neck. I stood completely still. Even in the pale light of the new moon the thick liquid was unmistakable.

‘Tonight we honour our pack, our coven and our alliance,’ Nathaniel said as he held a goblet up to his neck.

I couldn’t look away. Even as my stomach turned, my eyes were locked on the vessel in his hand.

‘No more will we fear the full moon,’ half those assembled chanted as Nathaniel drizzled blood on the scraggly tree standing alone there with us on the cliff.

My heart was hammering in my chest; it drowned out the crashing waves.

‘No more will we be hunted by beasts,’ the other half chanted as the cup was emptied.

I merely mouthed the words; I would not be bound by the spell.

Flames engulfed the tree.

Nathaniel cried out in pain.

The werewolves started to shift, unable to control themselves as the moon reached its apex.

The others of my coven started to chant. I could feel them linking to each other, trying to complete the spell Nathaniel had cooked up in his madness.

My heart raced. The wall of prophecy had been clear: if this spell was successful, it would do more than keep werewolves from turning. Acid burned my throat. I refused to allow an ancient evil to rise.

Calling on all the elements – using water from the ocean, fire from the burning tree, earth from where my bare feet dug into the ground, and wind from the strong breeze picking up around us – I negated their spell.

Bleary-eyed I watched as the werewolves surrounded me in their wolf-form. My mouth tasted of blood. The tree no longer burned. Most of my coven lay lifeless on the ground. I had been successful.

‘Why?’ Nathaniel asked.

‘Because none of us were ever meant to be immortal.’

I sighed as the ice-coffin sealed around me. If Nathaniel ever tried this spell again, I’d be there to stop him.

-Ronel Janse van Vuuren

Author Bio:

Ronel Janse van Vuuren is the author of New Adult, Young Adult and children’s fiction filled with mythology and folklore. Her dark fantasy stories can be read on Wattpad and on her blog Ronel the Mythmaker . She tweets about her interests, argues with her characters or plays with her Rottweilers when not writing.

I’m from Gauteng, South Africa. My favourite piece of writing is the collected works of the Brothers Grimm. I love writing because it fills me with a sense of purpose and allows me to introduce others to the characters in my head.

Be sure to follow Ronel on her blog Ronel the Mythmaker.

5 thoughts on “Guest Submission: Blood and Ice

Leave a Reply

