Guest Submission: The Torment

untitled

Again, I lie awake, assuaged by the stillness of night,
a clock ticking, then tocking, slowly teasing me with dawn.
Soon the fringe of daylight will edge toward tomorrow,
exposing my scars of yesterday, barely healed.
Why is there no end to the torment?

avatar Ash Douglas

Author Bio:

Born and raise by my grandparents in a small fishing community on the south coast of Newfoundland, Canada, it’s a place called Harbour Breton. I left there when I was 18 for university.  Since I left home and right up to present day I’ve lived in the city of Mount Pearl/St. John’s(combined these are kind of like one bigger city) so I live in the city of Mount Pearl and work in city of St. John’s as a Paralegal in a law firm downtown. I live with my fiancé Trixie and her mother Barbara. Trixie and I have been together for seventeen years this month, she’s my number one fan. I also have a 19 year old daughter, Ashton who is in her second year of college.

My favorite book is the Book of Awesome by Neil Pasricha because as soon as I picked it up I loved it, it read like something I had wrote it myself, the book was written like the way I think sometimes. It was a feel good read that brought back a slew of great memories based on the context of the book. I highly recommend it.

The reason I write is because it’s an outlet for me, it helps me express myself, and it makes me feel good when I make an impression on someone’s life. I like to think that what I write matters. I have always been an inner thinker, I’ve kept many journals, so many notebooks and when I really think about it, writing has been a part of my life this whole time, it’s only now I’ve chosen to share it with the world. I’m so glad that I took the plunge.

You can follow Ash at his blog: Earth To Ash

3 thoughts on “Guest Submission: The Torment

  1. The words fill the mind of the picture used. ‘ exposing my scars of yesterday’ you know Ash, when you wish that a grouping of words were yours … they are the ones! Nicely done.
    *sigh* Really Ash did you have to? Now I will have another book to hide until “really love I have had it simply ages” happens. *writes down* The Book Of Awesome.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

